day 2

In 2016 I kept reading articles that advised women with hormone imbalances to avoid caffeine among other things. It felt like someone was trying to tell me something. Finally in December I tapered down and eliminated it from my diet.

After weaning myself off I no longer needed caffeine to function.  I was able to wake and carry through my day without it. For 4 months I didn’t drink anything really except water and milk.  I slept pretty well at night.  The only problem was I missed the flavor of coffee and tea big time. The warm comforting drinks.  Decaf doesn’t even taste close to the same, don’t go there.  I know you are trying to be helpful, thanks.

Did it help my hormone balance?  I became pregnant the first month, so maybe.  After the pregnancy I decided I wouldn’t go back to caffeinated beverages.   I was on a high horse about it.  I was sooooo above caffeine. Then I began to fall.  I told myself I could drink a little.   Maybe for a treat now and then….Moderation is not my middle name.  Two weeks in and I gotta have coffee to wake up and function.

I really need to work on temperance.

There have been other unwanted side effects that I didn’t have during those four months. Crankiness, anxiety, short temper.  Yuck!  And on top of that my sleep cycle is a mess.  Did I mention that I am jittery?

So, do I cut it out again?  I think I know the answer to this question.  (Sipping coffee as I type)

30 day challenge day 2:

Yesterday I did some blogilates videos just so I could say I exercised.  And yes, I admit I felt good afterward. So, my 7th grade PE teacher was right all those years ago.  I don’t have the fitness bug yet, but I will keep working on it.

Still having sugar cravings and feeling a little flu-ish.  Carb withdrawal is so much fun!  I haven’t even cut them out completely!  Hopefully I will refer back to this and remember before indulging again?  I am always amazed how quickly bad habits set in.

Tidbit if the day;

Today is the feast of St. Gianna Beretta Molla, patron of mothers, physicians and unborn children.  She is a great pro-life saint.  But I really feel that if you read about her life, not just the ending, you will see that she was a fantastic example of a life lived for God.  In every circumstance.  She brought Christ to others and continues to do so even now.  She and her husband were a great example of christian marriage.  I recommend beginning with http://www.saintgianna.org/main.htm for more info.

Saint Gianna, pray for us!

Happy Friday!

Leave a Reply

