Seamus

August 6th will always be a part of me. Even though we lost the baby in the first trimester, the all important due date is indelible as a tattoo.   We don’t know how many early miscarriages I’ve had, but I carried Seamus the longest. Every second I carried was a blessing.  And even knowing the outcome, I would willingly suffer the pain for him again. My Doctors did everything they could, even when things didn’t look hopeful.  

I’ve never in my life experienced peace and calm as I did when pregnant with Seamus. Maybe it was all the progesterone?  But I prefer to think it was because he was with me. At the end, when I knew he was gone, but they kept me on shots for a week just in case, the peace was gone too.  

In the past year and a half, I have experienced it all.  Grief.  Guilt.  Depression.  Anger.  Jealousy.  Self-hatred.  Acceptance.  Over and over.  Sometimes I feel like I’m going crazy in my own skin, like I need to change my life, run away, but I can’t get away from myself.  And, I haven’t been taking care of myself.  

At times I can unite my suffering to Jesus.  Then at other times all I can do is say, “I’m here, God”, because I feel so dry and lost.  I try to remember what Mary went through watching her innocent Son suffer and die for the world.  In that sense, I cannot feel sorry for myself. 

And I’m not alone. To anyone experiencing this, I’m truly sorry for your loss and you are regularly in my prayers. Please know that it’s okay to grieve, even though your child wasn’t born. Life begins at conception.  The first person to recognize Jesus, was an unborn child.  (See Luke 1:41)  God loves us all enough to send his only Son to save us, so we have reason to believe He would save the innocent and the children are alive in heaven.  I believe it’s God’s will that these children are born to fulfill a specific purpose, not to die before birth.  But we live in a broken and sinful world, which has unintended consequences sometimes. 

Things I’ve learned on my own or in talking with others,

  1. Talk about it when you feel you need to, don’t hold it in.
  2. Your husband will not grieve on the same schedule as you.  Just because he seems to have bounced back doesn’t mean that he does not care. 
  3. People with good intentions are going to say horrible things.  You won’t believe what you are hearing.
  4. It will seem that pregnant women are following you, everywhere.  
  5. You may meet some women who struggle with spacing babies, this is a cross too but it isn’t easy to understand in our position.  

  I’ve had to protect myself at times, trust yourself. Reach out for help if you need it, don’t think you have to just move on or get over it. Like all grief its a process.  There are so many miscarriage ministries, counselors and support groups.  I’ve found quite a few resources online.  You should name your child.  We found this beautiful ministry,  http://www.innocents.com/shrine.asp and enrolled our child’s name.  

Since my earliest memories I’ve wanted to be a mom, but I’m at the end of childbearing age.  I know all things are possible with God. I’ve been trying to reframe my thinking into acceptance.  After 9 years of trying, it isn’t easy to switch from Someday-Mom, to Childless.  What do I do with myself now?  Im writing, working on health, exploring how I can be involved in foster care, and volunteer opportunities.  I feel drawn to pro-life causes.  I’m thinking of taking a class or trip.  I’m trying to be a better wife, and to improve my other relationships. I’m trying to find a new path, to figure out who I’m supposed to be now.

9 thoughts on “Seamus

  1. I’m sorry you’ve had such a hard time and you’ve had to experience this. God has a plan for all of us, and you know this, so you’ll figure it out, with His help. As for end of childbearing years, I don’t know how old you are, but I was 37 when I conceived my one and only child, my grandmother was 44 and conceived (no fertility drugs), and I have a friend who conceived at the age of 43 (my son’s best friend’s mom, no fertility drugs). And the only reason I’m telling you this is maybe to let you know there’s still time for hope? Hugs and prayers for you.

    1. I really appreciate your comments. 😊 I did not mean to sound so hopeless, its just a growing process. And I haven’t given up, I know anything is possible. I relaxing about it I guess?

      1. Oh I’m sorry… I hope I didn’t make you self-conscious about your writing! I know it’s hard putting it all out there for a bunch of strangers to read about, but it’s so therapeutic. No one knows you, and no one judges. Please, keep writing everything the way you normally would. This blog is your journey, so if you’re feeling hopeless one day, then it’s okay. I have found the blogging community to be super supportive in that respect.

        That being said, I’m happy to hear you haven’t given up! You never know what might happen! 😀

  2. I am very sorry for your losses. I never felt called to be a mother, but both my sister and my SIL had miscarriages; it is probably one of the most devastating things that can happen to a woman, and of course, I had no idea how to react. People do mean welll, but that’s hard when you’re going through it.

  3. Your writing is beautiful, and thank you for writing this! God will never steer you wrong… Keep writing and sharing. It’s good for the writer and readers and for the world to share hope. 🙂 Blessings and peace be with you! – Kaitlyn

Leave a Reply

